Wednesday, November 17, 2010

FLC Wins Again!

Fort Lewis Cycling Team Wins 4th Consecutive MTB National Championship

Fort Lewis cyclists adorned in their hard-earned Stars and Stripes jerseys

The recent Collegiate Mountain Bike National Championships could not have gone any better for the Fort Lewis College Cycling Team. By the end of the weekend they had thirteen podium finishes and took the overall team win for the fourth year in a row. Sage Wilderman took second in the Cross Country, won the short track, and then hopped on a Downhill bike and took the win there, too. Rotem Ishay won both the Cross Country and the Short Track for his second year in a row. Jack Hinkens, a freshman for FLC, podiumed in both of his first appearences at collegiate nationals. FLC also had three racers show their diversity in the sport and accumulated enough points over the weekend to reach the podium for the individual omnium award. These three riders were Nate Byrom, Sage Wilderman, and Kaila Hart, who placed fourth in the Short Track. Other podium finishes consisted of Sarah Sturm, who placed third in the Short Track, and Taylor Borucki, who placed fifth in the Downhill. Although podium finishes are relished, it was the overall team effort that allowed Fort Lewis College to be the overall 2010 Mountain Bike National Champions. Congratulations FLC!!!

Women’s Team
Sarah Sturm- XC, ST
Nathalie Krantz- XC, ST
Lauren Catlin- XC, ST
Annie Cheeney- XC, STS
Sage Wilderman- XC, ST, 4X, DH
Kaila Hart- XC, ST, 4X, DH
Chantel Coleman 4X, DH

Mens Team
Rotem Ishay- XC, ST
Trevor Downing- XC, ST
Jack Hinkens- XC, ST
Colton Anderson- XC, ST
Nate Byrom- XC, ST, 4X, DH
Taylor Borucki- 4X, DH
Lucas LeMaire- 4X, DH
Sam Stevens- 4X, DH

(XC=Cross Country/ST= Short Track/4X=Four Cross/DH=Downhill)

For more reading:

No comments:

Post a Comment